Public Policy Committee (PPC)

Provides the association’s focus on legislative matters; recommends studies on projects designed to advance the development of all types of libraries; advocates legislative action that advances library service for all residents of Illinois.  Committee consists of twelve voting members, serving three-year, staggered. Each incoming ILA president should appoint four members, including his/her designated Public Policy Committee chair.  Nonvoting ex officio members are the ILA executive director, the director of the Illinois State Library, ILA president, ILA vice president/president-elect, the chair of the ILA Intellectual Freedom Committee, and a representative of the school library community, a representative of the academic library community, a representative of the library systems community.  A vacancy shall be declared for any member who is absent without cause from three regular meetings in the period of one year.

2013-2014 Chair

Timothy P. Jarzemsky (term on committee 2012-2015)
Bloomingdale Public Library
101 Fairfield Way
Bloomingdale, IL 60108-1579
phone:  630-924-2722
fax:  630-529-3243
e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


M. Katherine Berggren  2011-2014
Esther Curry  2011-2014
Beth Duttlinger  2012-2015
Lee Ann Fisher  2012-2015
Michaela Haberkern  2011-2014
Shannon H. Halikias  2013-2016
Andrew Medlar  2013-2016
Anthony Oliver  2013-2016
Mary Petro  2012-2015
Frances E. Roehm  2012-2015
Vance Wyatt  2012-2015

Ex Officio

Marian Albers and Lynn Elam  ILA Advocacy Committee
Anne Craig  Illinois State Library
Jeannie Dilger  ILA Vice President/President-Elect
Connie Walsh  CARLI
Robert P. Doyle  ILA Executive Director
Su Erickson  ILA President
Lou Ann Jacobs  ISLMA
Marcie Shaffer  ILA Intellectual Freedom Committee chair
Pamela Van Kirk  ILA Past President

Board Liaison

Su Erickson