You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Intellectual Freedom Committee
  • Keeps abreast of statewide and national issues and challenges.
  • Gathers and disseminates information to the membership.
  • Serves as a clearinghouse and source of information for libraries seeking assistance.
  • Promotes intellectual freedom by actively contacting library and school officials where materials or procedures have been challenged, offering the assistance of the ILA membership.
  • Raises awareness and provides continuing education activities for the public and membership.
  • Selects the Intellectual Freedom Award winner.
  • Provides leadership and assistance in access and privacy for electronic information.

Committee membership is not more than ten personal members from diverse types of library settings.  Members serve a two-year, staggered term.  Chair is appointed by the vice president/president-elect of ILA for one year.

2013-2014 Chair

Marcie Shaffer  (term on committee 2012-2014)
Bloomington Public Library
205 E. Olive St.
P.O. Box 3308
Bloomington, IL  61701
phone:  309-557-8946
fax:  309-828-7312
e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Jeremy Dunn  2013-2015
Amy Glass  2012-2014
Susanne Glazbrook  2013-2015
Melissa Rice  2012-2014
Roger A. Ritzman  2013-2015
Louise Svehla  2012-2014
Alexander Todd  2012-2014

Board Liaison

Jeanne Hamilton