Cultural and Racial Diversity Committee (CARD)
  • Initiate training, programs, and awareness regarding cultural and racial diversity for the profession and the library community.
  • Inititate strategies, in conjunction with the Nominating Committees, to increase cultural and racial diversity in ILA’s membership and leadership by librarians, trustees, and support staff.
  • Introduce strategies to recruit workers of varied cultures and races to work in libraries and the profession.
  • Provide recognition for ALA’s Spectrum scholars and encourage participation in the opportunities provided for library workers and others desiring to obtain professional library degrees.
  • Encourage governing boards to reflect the cultural and racial composition of their communities.
  • Seek partnerships with library institutions and organizations to support these initiatives.
  • Develop, monitor, and evaluate diversity efforts in the association and report to the ILA Executive Board annually about achievements, continuing challenges, and strategies for change.

Committee membership is not more than ten personal members from diverse types of library settings.  Members serve a three-year, staggered term.  Chair is appointed by the vice president/president-elect of ILA for one year.

Visit the Cultural and Racial Diversity Committee blog.

2013-2014 Chair 

Mary Medjo Me Zengue  (term on committee 2011-2014)
Addison Public Library
Four Friendship Plaza
Addison, IL  60101-2499
phone:  630-543-3617
fax:  630-543-7275
e-mail:   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Katrina Belogorsky  2012-2015
Melody Coleman  2012-2015
Larissa Good  2012-2015
Robin Helenthal  2012-2015
Joanne Karss  2012-2015
Mary Ann Lema  2012-2015
Elizabeth Marszalik  2012-2015
Neena Nagpal  2013-2016
Thomas Padilla  2013-2016
Deirdre Rawls  2013-2016

Board Liaison
Leora Siegel