Advocacy Committee


The advocacy committee focuses on implementation of the legislative agenda as recommended by the Public Policy Committee (PPC) and approved by the ILA Executive Board; develops an annual advocacy plan in conjunction with PPC and the Executive Board; identifies advocacy best practices and implements them as appropriate; builds partnerships with organizations that have similar views; is responsible for advocacy education of ILA members; develops educational materials and programs to improve ILA members’ advocacy skills. Committee consists of twelve voting members, representing all types of libraries and public library trustees, serving three-year, staggered terms. Each incoming ILA president shall appoint four members, including his/her designated Advocacy Committee chair. Nonvoting ex officio members are the ILA executive director, the director of the Illinois State Library, ILA president, ILA vice president/president-elect, and the chair of PPC.

Click here to download the ILA Advocacy Took Kit in PDF format.

2013-2014 Co-Chairs
Marian V. Albers (term on committee 2012-2015)
Mascoutah Public Library
3 W. Church St.
Mascoutah, IL  62258-2004
phone:  618-566-2562
fax:  618-566-2563
e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Lynn Elam (term on committee 2013-2016)
Algonquin Area Public Library District
2600 Harnish Dr.
Algonquin, IL  60102
phone:  847-458-6060
fax:  847-458-9370
e-mail:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Betsy Adamowski  2011–2014
Richard Corbett  2013-2016
Peggy Danhof  2013-2016
Dennis Danowski  2012-2015
Jim Deiters  2013-2015
Susan Franzen  2013-2016
Maria Otero-Boisvert  2012-2015
Denise Raleigh  2012-2015
Lisa Marie Smith  2012-2015
Sally Decker Smith  2013-2016

Ex Officio

Anne Craig, Illinois State Library
Jeannie Dilger, ILA Vice President/President-Elect
Robert P. Doyle, ILA Executive Director
Su Erickson, ILA President
Timothy P. Jarzemsky, ILA Public Policy Committee
Lawren Tucker, Illinois State Library

Board Liaison

Denise Zielinski