Trustee of the Year Award
Presented by the ILA Trustee Forum and Bradbury Associates/Gossage Sager Associates, in honor of Don Sager (of Gossage Sager) and Sarah Long.

This annual citation is awarded to a public library trustee for achievement, leadership, and service to libraries.

The nominee must be a member of ILA and have made a significant contribution to his/her local library. Eligibility includes participation in two of three levels of service (system, state, and national activities) and demonstrated evidence of quality leadership ability.

The written support statement should not contain the nominee’s name, but should be attached to the fully completed Nomination for Recognition form.  The written support statement should detail the following:

  • contributions to local library, system activities, and involvement on the state and national levels; 
  • years of service, offices/positions/ committees, and accomplishments; 
  • notable leadership qualities; and 
  • any other relevant information. 
A note on the selection process for the Trustee of the Year Award:  the ILA Trustee Forum Executive Board selects the winner, but the selection is done in the blind.  The ILA Trustee Forum Executive Board does not know the name(s) of the nominee(s) until the selection is made. In the event that no deserving nominations are received,  the ILA Trustee Forum Executive Board may not then nominate a recipient and the award will not be given.

Award Winners
The recipient will receive a certificate.

Nomination Deadline
May 15

Bradbury Associates/Gossage Sager Associates

Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Trustee of the Year Award winners.