Sylvia Murphy Williams Award

In 2003, the association established an award in recognition of the late Sylvia Murphy Williams, 2002-2003 ILA President and Director of the Dundee Township Public Library.  The award provides encouragement and support to Illinois recipients of the ALA Spectrum Initiative Scholarship.  The Spectrum Initiative was created to address the issues of underrepresentation of ethnic librarians within the profession and to serve as a model for ways to bring attention to other diversity issues.  Awardees receive a paid registration to the current ILA Annual Conference and meal functions, recognition at the annual conference award luncheon, and a featured article in an ILA publication. 
See previous Sylvia Murphy Williams Award winners