Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award
Presented by the ILA Public Policy Committee.

This award was established in 1989 to recognize Robert R. McClarren for:

  • inspiring and guiding the development of a comprehensive legislative program on behalf of Illinois libraries and the Illinois Library Association;
  • serving with singular distinction on the ILA Library Legislative Development Committee;
  • being instrumental in establishing a grassroots program of legislator education and awareness;
  • drafting language for library legislation, which benefits Illinois libraries;
  • being an articulate spokesperson on behalf of Illinois libraries with the secretary of state, the General Assembly members, and Congressional delegation members;
  • being instrumental in drawing statewide support for library legislative initiatives from a broad base of constituencies; and
  • embodying by example the highest standard for citizen initiative in the shaping of the laws governing Illinois library development.

The award is given to a worthy recipient from the Illinois library community—librarian, trustee, legislator, or library—who has contributed significantly to legislative development in the state of Illinois.

An individual, group, or institution may be nominated. In the event that no deserving nominations are received, the Public Policy Committee may not then nominate a recipient.

The award recipient shall demonstrate outstanding accomplishment in at least one of the pioneering and exemplary achievements (cited above) of Robert R. McClarren’s distinguished career.

Award Winners
The recipient will receive a certificate.  The recipient's name will be added to the permanent plaque on display at the Illinois State Library building.

Nomination Deadline
May 15

Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award winners