Reference Services Award
Presented by the ILA Reference Services Forum and Ancel, Glink.

This award recognizes excellence in accordance with the Reference Services Forum’s mission statement: “The ILA Reference Services Forum exists for all who are interested in providing assistance to library users as they seek and use information. The forum offers opportunities to share and enhance skills as well as to promote and recognize quality service throughout Illinois.”

Nominees can be an individual, group, department, or library.  The nominee should be a personal ILA member or be employed by an institution that is an ILA member. Nominees do not have to be a member of RSF.  A Reference Services Forum subcommittee selects the recipient. In the event that no deserving nominations are received, the awards subcommittee members may not then nominate a recipient.

Nominees must demonstrate one or more of the following:

  • Specialized or innovative programs or services; 
  • Service to the library profession through active participation in professional organizations (at the local, state, or national level); 
  • The nominee has influenced and/or cooperated with persons or organizations within his/her community in the planning or presenting of programs or services for; and 
  • The nominee has reached and affected persons outside his/her own community by deed, idea, and/or example. 
A written statement of no more than 200 words should be submitted.  Letters of support and examples of quality work or innovative programs that reflect the intent of 
the forum’s award criteria, up to 
ten in number, should be included.

Award Winners
The recipient will receive a certificate and a $250 check.

Nomination Deadline
May 15


Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Reference Services Award winners