Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award
Presented by the Illinois Association of College and Research Libraries (IACRL) Forum and CARLI.

Established in 1985, this award recognizes an Illinois librarian who is making an outstanding statewide contribution to academic or research librarianship and to library development.

Any ILA member; the recipient must have distinguished himself/ herself in notable service to the forum and to the Illinois Library Association, as well as exhibited leadership and exemplary library service in an academic setting.

To assure equitability of representation of awardees among the various types of academic libraries and constituencies represented in the forum’s membership, the awards committee will give consideration, on a revolving basis, to these factors in the selection process. Individuals nominated should have demonstrated achievements in such areas as:

  • service to the organized profession through ILA, the IACRL Forum, and related organizations;
  • significant and influential academic or research library service; 
  • contributions to academic or research library development through research or publications; or 
  • planning or implementing a library program of exemplary quality. 
Nominees do not have to meet all the above criteria. 
Award Winners
The recipient will receive a certificate, a financial award totaling $500, and have their name added to the plaque at the Illinois State Library.

Nomination Deadline
May 15


Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Illinois Academic Librarian of the Year Award winners