Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial/Demco Award
Presented by Illinois Library Association and Demco in honor of Hugh C. Atkinson (1933-1986). Due in large part to his influence, Illinois garnered national recognition in statewide interlibrary cooperation. As a supplier to the nation’s libraries for more than eighty years, Demco is committed to recognizing excellence in libraries and library service as exemplified by Hugh Atkinson’s leadership.

The award shall be made annually for sustained activity and contributions having a lasting impact on librarianship. The recipient may be an individual, a group, a program, or an institution.

The award recipient must meet the criteria outlined. Individuals need not be librarians or ILA members, nor groups associated with ILA or with any specific library organization.  Programs may have originated in any institution or organization with or without library affiliation, and an award-winning organization may be a library, a library system or consortium, or a non-library organization.

To be considered for this award, activities or contributions relating to multitype library cooperation and/or resource-sharing should meet one or more of the following standards:

  • evidence of a sustained effort over a period of years;
  • contribution should be of a permanent quality; and
  • performance should serve as a model for similar programs.

The written statement of support should be based on the above criteria. Attach newspaper clippings or other forms of documentation, if available, to this application.

In the event that no deserving nominations are received, the ILA Awards Committee members may not then nominate a recipient.

Award Winners
The recipient will receive a certificate, $1,000 financial award, and have their name added to the plaque at the Illinois State Library.

Nomination Deadline
May 15



Nomination Submissions
The nominator’s statement of support should address all criteria under the individual awards as outlined.  Nominator must submit the nomination form and attach all support statements, letters, and documentation, etc. required by the award’s criteria. ILA must receive all nominations by May 15.

See previous Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial/Demco Award winners